HELP. My fish are eating everything

Discussion in 'Gouramis' started by yayshpankay, Mar 17, 2010.

1. y

yayshpankay New Member Member

Hi.
    So I have a 10 gallon tank, and I've had it since December 2009 and I'm pretty new to having fish so I don't know a whole lot about what I'm doing.

The lady at the fish store told me to get gourami's to live with my beta which I already had. My beta and one of my gourami's were killed within the first day. My beta was eaten and the gourami was beaten? until it just couldn't swim anymore.

Today I got a rubber lip pleco and the woman assured me it would be fine in my tank, but it's already missing and I'm assuming my gourami's ate it because I searched my tank and can't find it.

I feed my gourami's regularly, so do you think they're just malicious fish or do all gourami's do this?

Pleaseeee help me because I really hate these fish right now =[

2. A

AlyeskaGirl Fishlore VIP Member

Hello & Welcome to Fishlore!

I see you don't know about the Nitrogen Cycle, it's the most importent thing in fishkeeping. https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm

You have gottin some bad advice from your fish store. Bettas and Gourmais can't live together since they are related. Bettas need a tank to themselves period. A 10g tank is not big enough for a Rubber Lip pleco that grows to approx. 6" or for any pleco for that matter as they produce alot of waste, some get quite large and need space to swim. How many Gourmai's do you have now and what are they, Dwarf Gourmai? They are territorial and being in such a small tank they will defend THEIR tank. Do not add anymore fish to your tank.

Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  3. OP
    OP
    y

Right now I have 2 gourami's. I have no idea what kind they are. Today the woman at the store told me they were the same kind, just different colors. One is a silverish/bluish color and another is orange with zebra looking stripes on the top, if that helps at all?

4. A