1. Amazon Prime Day!
    Attention Amazon Prime Members: Not to miss deals on lots of products for 36 hours starting July 15!
    Go here: Amazon Prime Day Deals
    Dismiss Notice

Help! My Betta Fish Is Really Sick!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by Shadow the Hedgehog, Apr 21, 2018.

1. Shadow the HedgehogNew MemberMember

Hello everyone, I am new to fish forums, but I know very much about Berta fish. But, back to the point, my Berta fish has a really bad case of fin rot( he always has been that way, I’ve tried many medications but they don’t work that well) but I went on a week vacation, and when I came back, the tip of his top fin was bleeding. Then after two days, one of his gills looks a bit shredded and somewhat infected. I really need help. I don’t want Silver the Berta to die now....:(

Also, Silver eats very well, but sometimes stops once in a while( looks like he died) but he starts moving again.

And Silver gets a 50% water change every month, but I am not sure about the temperature. I need to buy a water heater for him.

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 21, 2018
  2. david1978Fishlore LegendMember

3. Shadow the HedgehogNew MemberMember

The tank size is 2 gallons, the filter is a strong one, and the tank tempurature is about room tempurature or more. I don’t add in any nitrates, but there is a Marimo moss ball in his tank. That is all the information I can provide on the ammonia/ nitrate levels.

4. DanjamesdixonWell Known MemberMember

I think you've pretty much described all your problems.

5. mattgirlFishlore VIPMember

Imagine having to bathe in the same bath water for a whole month while using it as your bathroom too. That is the condition this little guy is living in. :(

You should be changing his water at least every other DAY not once a month or so. Quit throwing medication at him and start keeping him in fresh water and it is possible he will eventually heal.

6. david1978Fishlore LegendMember