HELP mouth rot in fish/turtle community tank?!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by maddiewotherspoon, Jul 16, 2015.

1. m

maddiewotherspoon New Member Member

Hi, im new to fish and this forum. I have a 4ft by 2ft tank which is currently holding about 40 gallons.

In the tank are 2 musk turtles, a mud turtle, 2 silver shark fish, a pictus catfish, a hoplo, 6 corys and shoals of red eye, neon and red minor tetras.

It has always been a peaceful community tank, until yesterday I found a red eye tetra with what I believe to be mouth rot. It could only be described as a growth by his mouth, and there was another little one by his fin too. I quarantined him off, but he has now died and ive found another one with a growth.

Ive now separated the fish and the turtles, and turned the temperature down to 75.

PLEASE HELP as to what to do next! I am very worried for my fish and as I said, new to this!

Also if anyone could tell me what could of caused this that'd be really helpful!

Last edited: Jul 16, 2015
  2. babynemo

babynemo Valued Member Member

To me that tank sounds a little overstocked. The sharks from what I've seen and if they are the ones I'm thinking they are, can get up to a foot long. The hoplo can get up to 8inches. I would get the turtles their own tank and leave them in their own tank. Depending on the sex of the turtles you have you can expect anywhere from 4-8 inches from the mud turtle and 4-5 inches from the musk turtles. I would get at least a 75 gallon tank dedicated just to the turtles. A general rule with turtles is for every inch of shell, ten gallons of water is needed. Do you know the sex of your turtles? Males will usually get territorial with other male turtles. They can seem peaceful one day with each other and the next you could have a dead turtle.