Help! Mollies Dying!

fishyluver2616

Reaction score
Experience
3 years
I am relatively new to fish keeping-about 3 years. I have just recently upgraded to a 36 gallon Aqueon ensemble with a 50 power quiet flow filter and I have Fish dying! I currently have 2 mollies, 4 Balloon Mollies, 4 Dwarf Gourami's, 1 Cory(Owned for 3 years had 5 but over the years only one to survive but rejects all attempts at adding new corys), and 5 neon tetras. I got up this morning, fed every one and everything was good, Took a shower came back and a black balloon molly was lying on its side on the bottom next to a resting black molly that I discovered had Pop eye! I don't have a quarantine tank but have an 8 gallon that used to be my tank that isn't set up. I Took the balloon molly out and placed him in a jar with some water from the tank because they were all picking on him. He swan up to surface when I attempted to catch him but floated back down to the bottom after. Is currently on his side gasping for air in the jar just like he was in the tank! What do I do about the molly with pop eye? HELP!
-Alicia

BornThisWayBettas

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Welcome to Fish Lore! We're going to need you to answer some questions first, alright?

First off, according to your profile you don't know about the nitrogen cycle, a vital thing for every fish owner to know about.

Secondly, you'll need to test your water parameters. I recommend the API Freshwater Master Test Kit.

When you say "recently" you upgraded, how recently are we talking?

Did you space out adding your fish in? Like, just a few or so every week?

Are these only two fish that have shown any problems?

Is there any signs of aggression present in your tank?

What's your male to female molly ratio in the tank?

These are just a few questions that would be extremely useful in helping you.