20 Gallon Tank Help Me With Stocking

• Thread starter Hugooo
  • Start date

Hugooo

Well Known
Hi all! I am currently planning for a 20 gallon long and I want some input on my current stocking so far. Keep in mind I have not chosen my filter, plants, lights, substrate, etc. yet. (For a light, I am currently looking at the hygger Full Spectrum Light, and for substrate I am looking at BDBS) I am still a beginner, and have no experience with live plants and fish other than livebearers. I'm just thinking about the fish right now because it's the most exciting part :D But I am 100% aware that my fish selection completely depends on the plants, filter, etc. Anyway, here is my current planned stocking:
So there you go. Again, this list is 100% modifiable and is in no way complete. The number of each fish can be changed as well. And I hope you get my preferred stocking: one or two bottom-dwelling species, one or two schooling species, and some centerpiece fish. I want fish that are $4.00 and under, and require easy to moderate care. I also want a colorful tank ;) As well as stocking recs, I would also appreciate filter recs, live plant recs, substrate recs, light recs, etc. I want plants that require easy to moderate care, but I will mostly likely be using a fert (ThriveC) and root tabs. TIA! :)

Note: For the the three fish that have slashes, that just means that any of those fish will work, I'm just not sure which one yet.

Edit: Some other fish I was looking at are WCMM, Multies, Zebra Danios, etc. I just put this here so you have a better understanding of what kind of fish I'm looking at. Another thing, my tap water pH is 7.5, not sure about the kH/dH/gH.

SouthAmericanCichlids

Well Known

BigBeardDaHuZi

I will throw in a quick shout out for the cardinal tetras. I always worried they would look lurid with such bright colors. Instead, they really, really pop with a live plant background. Much better color than neons too

Nataku

Well Known