Help me with a Hawaiian biotope.

1. Kwig Well Known Member Member

So, I'm starting to get the itch to jump into saltwater aquariums. I'm just here to ask a million questions and get my equipment list and stock plan together well in advance.
    I know it is advised for a beginning saltwater tank to be larger, but I'd really love to try a 20 gallon long. I'm interested in inverts, blennies, gobies, and maybe some very small reef safe fish.
    I am open to all suggestions regarding livestock and corals, and equipment.
    I want good quality but also don't have unlimited resources.
    I'm also looking for recommendations and general info on RO/DI systems as I've never used one before.

If possible, I'd like to do a Hawaiian biotope, as my son's father is from Hawaii and it would sure help me to explain setting up ANOTHER tank, haha.
    I have 4 aquariums, all planted freshwater. A 3.7 gallon, a 5.5 gallon, a 10 gallon, and an 85 gallon with sump and automatic dosing pump for ferts. I use all LED lighting. I'm hoping that some of this experience will translate well and help ease me into saltwater.
    If you were trying to set up a 20 gallon long reef Hawaiian biotope, with attention to inverts and bottom dwellers, what sort of things would be a must buy for you?

2. Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

Bumping this up for you

3. Kwig Well Known Member Member

Thanks. I'm sure these posts are tired, and I know that this one is demanding but hoping people can help with one question at a time!

4. Kwig Well Known Member Member

Slug ? Any input would be fantastic, your nano is so inspiring.

5. Slug Well Known Member Member

Hard for me to help much here. Wish I could say I've been to Hawaii. It's on the list for one day....