Help me understand how my overflow / sump works to not flood!

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by johnny872005, Jul 28, 2015.

1. j

johnny872005 New Member Member

Hi All,

I'm new to the hobby and have a used 120 gallon I picked up off of someone.

What I'm struggling to understand is how the overflow and sump work. Specifically, I'm trying to understand how, in the event of a power failure (and thus the return pump isnt pushing water out), the tank does not keep flooding into the sump until the water level reaches the height of my intake overflow.

Below is a quick diagram I put together showing my basic setup.

Ep3J2yP.png

From the image, you can see the intake is below the water line, and gravity naturally pushes water down to the sump. Also, the tube from the intake overflow sits above the sump and just dumps the water down into the sump.

What I'd like to understand is: In the event of a power failure, how do I stop the tank from dumping all the water that is above the intake hole? From what I understand, my sump should only really have to hold the water that's in my plumbing, but from my understanding of the diagram above, I think water would keep flowing down.

Is there something I'm missing or overlooking? Any help is appreciated!!

2. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydro Well Known Member Member

The most simple way to prevent flooding, is to keep the water level in the sump low enough so that if the power went out, when the tank drains into the sump it won't go all the way to the top of the sump.

The way I fill sumps is to first set up the overflow in the aquarium and let it drain water into the sump until it stops (When the water level in the display tank goes below the overflow) and then fill the sump to the top. Now, when the power goes out, the overflow will drain water from the display tank down into the sump until the sump is full and stop.