Help me stock my tank with nice looking fish!

1. am3ience Initiate Member

Hi, i'm new to fishkeeping and have a 36 gallon bowfront tank using an aqeuon quietflow 55 filter, and the tank is in the process of being heavily planted. Currently I have:

6 zebra danios
    3 honey gourami
    3 oto catfish
    1 siamese algae eater.

I'm thinking of bringing my zebra danios back to petsmart and getting some more colourful fish for my tank. I was thinking of a couple dwarf flame gourami, and a school of cardinal or neon tetras or maybe even rainbowfish? Any recommendations would be awesome! Would like the fish be as nice looking or colorful as possible!

2. jdhef Moderator Moderator Member

Welcome to FishLore!

I would recommend against more than one Flame Dwarf Gourami. They really do not get along with one another and should be treated more like male Betta's.

When I had my 36 gallon bowfront tank set up I had 3 Boeseman's Rainbows along with 5 Odessa Barbs. So I would think that if you returned the danio's, you could put 3 Rainbows in there (actually more than 3 if you get Preacox Rainbows or Threadfin's)

Best of luck!

3. endlercollector Fishlore VIP Member

Please tell us about your pH and if possible your KH to help us come up with good stocking ideas to replace your danios. How long has your tank been set up?

A regardless of the KH, I cannot recommend keeping any Boesemanis in your tank. They need to be in a shoal of at least six, and I would not put them in anything less than 55 gallons as they like to zip along. They like hard water, and would not easily live with honey gouramis or oto cats, who demand more acidic water.

Honey gouramis and oto cats are very difficult fish to keep in my experience. If you're successful with them, then I would imagine that you can handle a school of cardinal or neon tetras if you have access to very hardy ones that are bred locally or else wild caught.