Help me PLEASE!

Amnagrla

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Hi,

I haven't had a fishtank since I was a kid.  I'm a college student and went out and bought a 10 gal tropical tank kit with filter, heater, etc.  I ran the tank for a whole week before buying fish.  I went to the store and they guy told me what was the best type of fish to get.  He suggested a hearty fish like tetra or swordtails.  I picked out the Koi (Clown) Swordtails.  He said I should have 3 and he gave me 2 female and 1 male.  He told me not to put anymore fish or plants in for a few more weeks.
According to everywhere I've looked (but not from the guy that sold me the fish)... my fish will eventually start giving birth every 28 days when they are old enough??  I feel completely unprepared for this and like I'm getting myself in too deep.   What do I need to get, a smaller bowl, a birthing net... anything else??  AND!  What do I DO with the babies!?    In a few weeks when I go back to the store, I plan on buying some plants and 2 more fish. Any suggestion for a second type of fish for me?   Thank you so much!  I'm a bit of a panic on this...

~Amanda

Aquaman

Reaction score
Hi,

Welcome!

Running the tank for a whole week is not enough to prepare the tank for fish. The tank has to go though a cycling period of about a month where it develops "good" bacteria called Nitrates after going though all of the Ammonia and Nitrites (bad). This period is very stressful to fish and usually only very hardy fish can survive it. Read about cycling your tank and the Nitrogen Cycle here:

https://www.fishlore.com/Articles/TheNitrogenCycle.htm

You can bypass the cycling period if you use a product called BioSpira. BioSpira has to be kept refrigerated and you add it with your fish to the tank.
This is how I cycled my tank. I've had a fish tank for only about a year now, so other more experienced fish keepers will start chiming in to help you further.

kalika

Valued Member
Reaction score