Help me please

windymeadow

Reaction score
My teenage son got a Betta from a girlfriend, which of course I immediately inherited.  I kept it in a vase for  a while (I know, yikes). I am completely new to the care of any kind of fish.  I searched the net trying to figure out what this little beauty needs.  I bought a baby BiOrb because I thought they looked cool, but they are very bubbley and Joe Cool  doesn't seem happy.  I didn't cycle the tank, I am just learning about that here.  I did put conditioner in ( I thought that was all that was needed).  Our house is chilly so I bought a 50 watt heater (4 gallon tank) so thats another worry, I don't know if that is the right size.  I also heard that the bright light at the top isn't good for him?  Do I need to buy another aquarium or is there a way to make this one less bubbley? I also heard that they like still water? I will buy another aquarium if I need to.   I wish someone would tell me  what is needed.  I have gotten hooked  ( ha ha  no pun intended) on this fish.  But it is driving me crazy trying to figure out EXACTLY what he needs.  I just am getting so confused reading about filters and airstones etc. I really don't know anything except what I am reading on the net and as I am finding out there is a shocking amount of nonsense out there.  Please, please help.  Thanks!

Oh, by the way...The Baby Biorb is 4 gallons, I think that is why it is too bubbly, the poor fish can't sleep at the top like he likes to do without getting tossed about (I am guessing).

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
He needs another tank and there are several that would be perfect:

I just bought another one of these.

The Hex5 kits can be purchased at most Walmart stores for $30. and contain everything but the heater and gravel and fish (and plants and decorations if you want).