Help me plan my Walstad bowl (:

andrearamirezo91
Hello everyone! :;bananahi
Old user here, it's been a while but it's good to be back!

I haven't had a fish tank in a while and I'm planning on starting a 5gallon Walstad planted bowl, which I'm super excited to plan with you! I have always gotten awesome advice and ideas here :)

The plan is still very fresh but this is what I'm thinking:
- 5G bowl
- 7 chilli rasboras (or 7 galaxy rasboras)
- cherry shrimp
- male betta plakat
- Full spectrum LED mini light (should I do 5W or 9W?)
- Should I add a snail or two for the algae?

Plants and aquascape:
- Organic potting soil topped with aquarium medium (not sure which yet, suggestions welcome)
- Montecarlo carpet (i'm also open to DHG or an y other sugggestions but I'd rather have something that's easy to carpet)
- Dry-start method for the carpet

Questions:
- Any comments on the fish/quantity?
- How would you stock the bowl if I were to downgrade it to a 3.5G?
- It's my first time setting up a walstad tank. I have researched but all tips are welcome
- Any discrete and effective way to heat the water? I was excited about not having ugly cables dangling out of my low tech bowl but then I remembered my betta will need a heater :(
- What beginner/intermediate plants do you recommend for this setup? I'd love to add driftwood, rocks, and maybe smaller or more delicate plants to give the impression that you're looking into sort of a miniature world
- Easy colorful plants??
- Would you still use something like Tetra Safe Start to speed up the cycling process of the tank?
- At what point do you add fish to the bowl? How long would it take approximately for a 5G planted bowl to be ready for fish?
- feel free to share photos of your aquarium scapes for inspiration, it will be very much appreciated! :)

Thanks in advance :happy:

Advertisement
JustAFishServant
That sounds awesome! But to me it sounds over stocked. Maybe I'm not imagining it correctly...