Help Me Complete Cycle

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photobelle

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I have been working on cycling my tank for several months now. I believe I was over cleaning before. I will be finishing my second round of tss tomorrow. Yesterday pH was 7.8, ammonia 2-4, nitrites 0, and nitrates 5-10. I am paranoid about doing anything after tss because I can't seem to complete my cycle. I plan to just do a 50% water change, wave my hand around the gravel to stir up the waste and that is it. How often and much should I do water changes until the cycle completes? Don't stir gravel just get waste off the top until it is complete? Then I can do gravel cleanings just alternating sides correct? Now for the filter I have a aquaclear 30. I don't plan to touch the biomedia or foam pad. However I have a polishing pad and a charcoal/ammonia reducing bag in there. I believe those should be changed but should I wait til the cycle completes or change them as needed (once a month I believe). I have a 10g with 3 platies and a molly. I do have a 20long I will be moving everything too but I am waiting to cycle before moving everything. Thank you!

DuaneV

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
If youve been running a tank for several months and you had ammonia of 2-4 and no nitrites or nitrates, something is SERIOUSLY wrong. Those are numbers from a brand new tank, not a tank running for months. A tank running for months should be in full cycle.

What do you mean you've been over cleaning? Are you replacing those throw away filter cartridges? If so, EVERY SINGLE TIME you do that youre throwing away your cycle.

Photobelle

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started