Help! Is this blood Im looking at?

PlasmoticOdysse

I noticed this (apologies for poor picture hard to get a good one) on my dwarf flame gourami recently and I have NO idea what had happend or what is going on.
I have a 20g tall and these are my parameters
Ammo - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 20ppm
Ph - 7.2

Stocking is one flame gourami
One blue gourami
5 zebra danios
2 dwarf orange lobsters

I have no clue whats happening but slowly it seems he has been getting worse. I dont have a hospital tank and my 20g long is still cycling but im stumped as to what's going on to be honest. He looks rough and I dont want the poor guy to pass away :( can anyone give me some insight as what could be going on and just point me in the right direction of what to do?

Attachments

• 20220410_220246.jpg
    20220410_220246.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 20

JuiceKong

I have no experience with this disease but I just have to throw iridovirus dwarf gourami disease out there. Bad genetics, there is no way to treat this. See if others agree that this looks like DGD. Really the only way this can be combated is to stop buying dwarf gouramis in the future.
Your blue gourami is at risk. If you are able to get a second tank or tub set up real quick and get the gouramis separated you might save the blue gourami. I am sorry this sounds so grim.

Hellfishguy

Has the blue gourami shown any aggression towards the dwarf?

PeterFishKeepin

looks like his tail is pretty shreded up but that could just be the quality of the photo, perhaps he has had fin nipping from other fish, then started getting sick, it worsened and now its developed into this?

thats a thought not necassarily correct

PlasmoticOdysse

looks like his tail is pretty shreded up but that could just be the quality of the photo, perhaps he has had fin nipping from other fish, then started getting sick, it worsened and now its developed into this?

thats a thought not necassarily correct