Help! I'm a newbie

Tazmiche

Well Known Member
Reaction score
HI, i have the tank set up, no fish, started nit cycle, reading everything i can find ( as don't want to harm/kill any fish if i can help it)but after keeping goldfish most of my life breeding had never crossed my mind! i've been reading on here about the fry that have been born etc and have just thought OMG! i now have so many questions!  :-[ Am i going to have baby fish coming out of my ears? do i leave them to it? what do i do with them? etc, etc!!!!! PLEASE inform me. i am the sort of person that would keep all babies born to any of my pets so am worried as i already live in a zoo( 1 hamster, 2 dogs, 2 rabbits,1 horse) and sadly i'm not rich! So looking forward to tank( small 28 ltr to start and learn from) hope to do as best as i can. Any info on starting up would be great, i have changed from a big pet store to a very down to earth small shop and they are great, makes a huge difference as they have several tanks each at home, they actually care not just a job.Help anyone? 

Isabella

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
First, welcome to Fish Lore

I do not have any experience with goldfish and their breeding, so I cannot tell you about it. But if you do not yet know about the Nitrogen Cycle, this is a "must" for a good start. Here is an article about the Nitrogen Cycle: https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm, and here are many other useful articles: https://www.fishlore.com/Beginners.htm.

If you can, get tests for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and pH, as they'll be needed during the cycle and afterwards, throughought the entire fish-keeping experience. Your tank will be cycled and safe for fish when ammonia = 0 and nitrite = 0. However, do not add too many fish at once, as this may cause a sudden ammonia and/or nitrite spike.