Help Identifying hitchhiker snail?

Haydos001

Hi All,

I'm very new to fishkeeping and just currently cycling my new tank (70l fresh water), I added a few live plants from a local aquarium to get them settled and rooted before buying any fish.

A few days ago I noticed some small moving specs of white, after looking closely I realized they're snails and learned the common occurrence of hitchhiking snails on plants.

I think I'll keep some of them but I'll probably need to keep their numbers in check, I can't seem to figure out the species of snails though, I've been looking at multiple pictures on google of the most common types but it's hard to say when they are infants.

In my non-experienced opinion, they look like nerites a little but there's no salt that has been added to the aquarium besides what I've added to the water (Seachem Stability and API Co2 Booster). The snails are getting bigger and faster every day.

Or maybe a common pond snail, but they seem to have little gold and black stripes on the shells rather than a brown.

I don't have the best pictures of them, unfortunately, it's hard to get a good look at their shells as they always stay on the glass.

Many thanks in advance!!

Attachments

• 20211116_163005.jpg
    20211116_163005.jpg
    257.2 KB · Views: 13
  • 20211116_162935.jpg
    20211116_162935.jpg
    129.5 KB · Views: 12
  • 20211116_162917.jpg
    20211116_162917.jpg
    184 KB · Views: 13

bored411