Help Identify Disease? (pictures)

1. G

Grace2018 Initiate Member

So I have a 10 gal freshwater tank which I believe is fully cycled (although I don’t 100% trust my testing strips), I’ve had it for a couple months.
    There is currently only 1 pearl danio and 1 white tetra in the tank, both of which I bought and put in at the same time 2ish weeks ago.
    I noticed the tetra had a piece of her top fin missing last week, so I removed the agressive zebra fish that I thought had nipped it. In the past couple days I’ve noticed that fin now has a reddish tint at the base. She was acting weird, hiding and not eating yesterday. Today she came out finally to eat and she looked like this (see pic) with the red spots on both of her sides. Any thoughts??

Side note— the pearl danio is acting normal but I’m fairly certain that the black spot on his top fin is new.

I’m pretty new to fishkeeping and have never dealt with any illnesses. I do 25% water changes every other day (sometimes with a gravel vaccuum) and use water conditioner and quick start with each change. Help please!!

Attached Files:

2. Floundering_Around

Floundering_Around Well Known Member Member

1. You really only need to do water changes once a week
    2. you don't need to add quick start with each water change. You really don't need to add it at all once the tank is cycled. The only thing you need to add is water conditioner to remove chlorine
    3. Both fish are schooling fish and need to be kept in groups of six or more with their own species to feel safe and reduce aggression
    4. I'm not sure what the bigger fish is, but it's not a pearl danio (Brachydanio albolineata)
    5. The fish that is injured is not a white tetra but a red eye tetra (Moenkhausia sanctaefilomene). Ideally, need to be housed in a tank larger than 20 gallons with a group of six or more. I'm not sure what could have caused the red spots on its sides