HELP! High Nitrites in Goldie Tank

1. Graveyardsally Initiate Member

Hello!

First off, I am still fairly new to fish keeping. I have only been doing it for a few months now.

About a month ago I moved my Goldie's to a 40g. I cycled and everything was going well. I added them in; everything thing still going well. This last week I have noticed the water seemed very cloudy. I tested this morning and my Nitite level is WAY out of control. Everything else seems to be in balance. What can I do to get these levels down and under control?
    I truly appreciate any and all advice :)

Thanks in advance!
    Steph

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

2. Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

How high are the nitrites & what are your other water stats? it sounds like the filter wasn't fully cycled or adding the goldies caused a spike, how many goldies do you have in the tank?
    For now I suggest you do some large water changes to get the nitrites down

3. Graveyardsally Initiate Member

For testing I'm using Tetra Easy Strips...
    Nitrates: 10
    Nitrites: 10+
    Hardness: 75
    Chlorine: 0
    Alkalinity: 40 (think this might be low too?)
    pH: 7

I have 4 fish (1 Ryukin, 2 Calico Fantails, 1 Black Moor)

I'm using a Topfin 40 filter

Like I said, still VERY new to this

Thank you!

4. Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

Wow those nitrites are high, have you also tested for ammonia?
    Strips can be inaccurate, a liquid test such as the Api one is better, you can get it from your Lfs or amazon.
    I'd definitely do a large water change, as large as you can don't forget to dechlorinate, then test again & if the reading is still high do another change.

5. Graveyardsally Initiate Member

I have not done an ammonia test yet. I'll do a change and go pick up the API test kit. Thank you so much for your help!

I'll report back and let you knew how it goes!

6. poeticinjustices Well Known Member Member

Hi there. And welcome :)