Help! Fish Loosing Tails, Covered In White Fungus!

Sebastian CHokka

New Member
Member
Messages
36
Reaction score
2
Location
Troy, MI
Experience
1 year
WIN_20170421_16_21_32_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_35_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170421_16_21_32_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170421_16_21_32_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_35_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_36_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170421_16_21_32_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170421_16_21_32_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_35_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_36_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_41_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_57_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_57_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_21_18_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_21_19_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_21_37_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_21_41_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_21_19_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_21_18_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_57_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_41_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_36_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170610_09_20_35_Pro.jpg
WIN_20170421_16_21_32_Pro.jpg
My fish have never caught a desise for the year I had them. Today, I noticed that my Dwarf Pleco is covered in white spots, my *peacefull, never aggressive* Betta is covered in it, and my *PEACEFUL, NEVER AGGRESSIVE* Neons are loosing their tails, and are covered in white spots! I'm doing a 50% water change and putting in Melafix. WHAT ELSE CAN I DO?
 

Fashooga

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
4,834
Reaction score
2,774
Location
Portland, OR
Experience
More than 10 years
When fish get sick you treat them for what they have. If you think it's fungus and your following the instructions, add x amount of dosage per gallon, remove carbon filter (if you have it) and sit at wait for 48 hours and change water and re-dose, than there is nothing else you can do but wait for the meds to take it's course.

Just make sure your following the instructions. For instance API recommends you do 25% water change 48 hours after your first dosage. But that's just API.

Also be prepared for some casualties.

Good luck.
 

Dave125g

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,940
Reaction score
11,470
Location
upstate NY
Experience
More than 10 years
I can't see much in the pictures. A fungus usually doesn't cause missing tails. That's usually fin and tail rot, which is a bacterial infection. Can you list all your fish species and water parameters please?
 

Wendy Adams

Active Member
Member
Messages
51
Reaction score
10
Experience
Just started
Sebastian CHokka said:
HELP!!!!
*Accidentally attached more that one of the same pic*
Sebastian, head on over to the Freshwater Fish Diseases board. I'm dealing with the exact same thing. It sounds like the white spots is ich and the other is either fin rot or a fungal or bacterial infection which can come on from stress and many of other things. You might get some information there as I've had a few people respond to my issues there that are really helpful. In the meantime, I'm sure others will respond to you here. But What I found is I got quicker responses by putting my posts in the correct forum. I first posted here yesterday or in one of the general forums. But didn't get many responses. When I reposted under the fish disease category it didn't take long to get a lot of good information.
 

Discusluv

Well Known
Member
Messages
3,297
Reaction score
2,754
Location
Elk grove, Ca.
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to Fishlore!
Have you added any fish to your tank lately?
Do you have a water testing kit that you can use to test Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate?
What is your water changing schedule?
Are all your fish eating?
It definitely appears bacterial, but answering these questions will help with treatment.
 

Fahn

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
6,987
Reaction score
4,120
Location
Florida, USA
Experience
3 years
Sebastian CHokka how big is the tank and how long has it been running? How often do you do water changes?
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #8
OP
Sebastian CHokka

Sebastian CHokka

New Member
Member
Messages
36
Reaction score
2
Location
Troy, MI
Experience
1 year
The tank is 10 gallon. Running for 1.5 years, but I just took it out last week and beached it. Water changes every week for 35%, if I forget one week then 45%. Only Betta and Pleco eating.
 

Fahn

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
6,987
Reaction score
4,120
Location
Florida, USA
Experience
3 years
Sebastian CHokka said:
The tank is 10 gallon. Running for 1.5 years, but I just took it out last week and beached it. Water changes every week for 35%, if I forget one week then 45%. Only Betta and Pleco eating.
You bleached the tank?! How did you remove the chlorine? Also that pleco needs more than 10 gallons, as do the tetras.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #10
OP
Sebastian CHokka

Sebastian CHokka

New Member
Member
Messages
36
Reaction score
2
Location
Troy, MI
Experience
1 year
I bleached it because my 6-year old sister put in soap. Took the fish out, bleached the tank, then rinsed thouroghly. Added stress coat, then added fish. Pleco is a Dwarf Pleco, and it stays about 4". I had 3 Neons, one committed scuicide about a month ago. The one without a tail is now floating, barely alive. Added FungusGaurd.
 

Fahn

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
6,987
Reaction score
4,120
Location
Florida, USA
Experience
3 years
Sebastian CHokka said:
I bleached it because my 6-year old sister put in soap. Took the fish out, bleached the tank, then rinsed thouroghly. Added stress coat, then added fish. Pleco is a Dwarf Pleco, and it stays about 4". I had 3 Neons, one committed scuicide about a month ago. The one without a tail is now floating, barely alive. Added FungusGaurd.
Alright, good to know.

Despite the small size dwarf plecos all have huge bioloads. Clown, bristlenose, bulldog, and rubberlip plecos only get a few inches but require a 29 gallon minimum and very good filtration.
 

Fashooga

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
4,834
Reaction score
2,774
Location
Portland, OR
Experience
More than 10 years
I wonder if the tank is going to a new nitrogen cycle? Soap getting into the filter, than possible bleach residue might have made the filters in the HOB or canister useless. Thus causing a spike and stressing out the fish which causes some underlying infection that was dormant and now causing problems.

How are the water parameters?
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #17
OP
Sebastian CHokka

Sebastian CHokka

New Member
Member
Messages
36
Reaction score
2
Location
Troy, MI
Experience
1 year
I don't have a water testing kit. I put new filters and rinsed the filter, but did not bleach it... I should have bleached it... I'm so stupid XD
 

Fahn

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
6,987
Reaction score
4,120
Location
Florida, USA
Experience
3 years
Sebastian CHokka said:
I don't have a water testing kit. I put new filters and rinsed the filter, but did not bleach it... I should have bleached it... I'm so stupid XD
Yep, the new filters would be the cause. You restarted your cycle!
 

New Threads

Similar Threads

Follow FishLore!

FishLore on Social Media

Online statistics

Members online
218
Guests online
3,014
Total visitors
3,232

Aquarium Photo Contests

Aquarium Calculator

Top Bottom