help? co2 issue

1. bryanmc1988 Initiate Member

well i was my aquascrape to start growing fast but i'm new to co2 and not sure what it will do or help me with my plants

also i have cherry shrimps in my tank... will to much co2 kill them? or if anyco2 will kill them.... i'll be doing the diy co2 mixture style.

also if i put a control value on the co2 airline and close it, will the bottle burst after a while from the peruser?

2. psalm18.2 Fishlore Legend Member

What size tank, what plants, what lighting do you have? What do you mean by control valve?

3. ryanr Moderator Moderator Member

+1 psalm.

It's also worth noting that CO2 is not the only contributor.

Depending on the setup (low-light low-tech through to high-light high-tech), CO2 supplementation may not be required.

The type of plants will dictate the type of setup, and what supplementation may be required.

To reduce/avoid the potential for algae outbreaks, you need to balance Light/CO2/Nutrients (fertilisers and NPK supplements).

Some comments regarding DIY CO2 (From experience) - be sure to keep a steady level of CO2 in the system - fluctuations in CO2 can induce Black Beard Algae. It pays to have two bottles to interchange.

A bubble counter is strongly recommended to monitor flow of CO2 into the aquarium.

Also be aware that whilst during the day (lights on), plants convert CO2 into O2, but at night (lights off), plants do not process the CO2 (photosynthesis cannot occur without light), and actually expel CO2, increasing the CO2 concentration. I run an air pump at night to minimise the CO2 fluctuations, and to put O2 back into the water column.

Also keep in mind that CO2 fluctuations will also bring about pH fluctuations from night to day. Depending on the setup, a pH regulator may be required.

All that said, this is all largely dependant on the type of plants you wish to keep.

So let's start at the beginning with the equipment you currently have, and the plants you wish to keep.