Help Ammonia And Ich

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by Dante D'Angelo, Apr 11, 2017.

1. Dante D'Angelo

Dante D'Angelo New Member Member

Hi everyone,

Problem:
    I am new to aquariums and have a big issue. A while ago ammonia spiked and I lost a few fish so I've been treating it with beneficial bacteria and daily 40% water changes. While treating this, fish developed ich. Obviously the problem is that ich treatment kills beneficial bacteria. So I've been Continuing to add bacteria (more than usual because of the treatment for ich) as well as the water changes daily.

Questions:
    Should I not change the water as much or should I change it more?

Is there anything else I can do?

Tank info:
    Temp: 78 (automatic heater and temp gauge)
    Ph: 7.2
    Ammonia level: .5-1.0 currently (was 2.0)
    Plants: two live plants (planted on substrate)
    Rocks: yes
    Tank size: 10 gal.
    Filter: rated to 20 gal
    Food: blood worms, bottom feeder pellets

Fish:
    All tetra died of ich
    Two Amano shrimp
    One gold dojo loach
    One betta
    Four swordtail (one male three female)

2. Bizarro252

Bizarro252 Well Known Member Member

Ich treatments should not kill your bacteria. A lot of them can kill your shrimp however. What treatment are you using?
    You can also go the natural route and increase the heat (and add salt) - or do that in addition to whatever treatment you are using.