Help A Snail Noob Out?

Biev

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
UJiQjwH.jpg

YiWWstw.jpg

These guys came in with our latest guppy shipment, and I was instructed to "just leave them alone", so I did. I kinda have to start paying attention to them though, because we now have a ton of them, and they're getting these white streaks that I didn't notice before. I'm not very experienced with snails, so... Questions:

1) These are ramshorn, yes?
2) I'm guessing the white stripes mean they are calcium deficient?
3) Should I be feeding them? They're living off of flake debris right now, but I try not to overfeed in the first place, and while they are multiplying, some are also trying to exit the tank so I'm worried I may be starving them.
4) Ethical issues aside (I have a whole Board to deliberate on that for me), can I feed the "extras" to convict cichlids or marmorkrebs?

Thanks, snail experts!

live4wetsleeves

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Biev said:
View attachment 434753
View attachment 434754

These guys came in with our latest guppy shipment, and I was instructed to "just leave them alone", so I did. I kinda have to start paying attention to them though, because we now have a ton of them, and they're getting these white streaks that I didn't notice before. I'm not very experienced with snails, so... Questions:

1) These are ramshorn, yes?
2) I'm guessing the white stripes mean they are calcium deficient?
3) Should I be feeding them? They're living off of flake debris right now, but I try not to overfeed in the first place, and while they are multiplying, some are also trying to exit the tank so I'm worried I may be starving them.
4) Ethical issues aside (I have a whole Board to deliberate on that for me), can I feed the "extras" to convict cichlids or marmorkrebs?

Thanks, snail experts!