help a noob out?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Invertebrates' started by bigshane, Apr 13, 2010.

1. bigshaneNew MemberMember

i would like to add inverts to my tank(30 gallon rectangle)in the future. my conserns are finding ones that are community safe and wont climb out via my heater or tall plants. any recommendation on which ones to reasearch would greatly help me as im a noob. O:;batman
    my perameters are all good but ph 7.4 is a tad high but i dont mess with it. tank fully cycled. 5 cherry barbs.

2. Prince PowderWell Known MemberMember

What else were you planning on keeping in the tank? That would make a big difference in which, if any, you can safely keep.

3. ryanrModeratorModerator Member

Red Cherry and Ghost Shrimp are common, and do well in most community tanks, depending on the size of the tank mates. Quite often shrimp will become dinner for larger tank mates. :;laughing

Snails are also an option.

As long as you have cover glass/hood, you're inverts shouldn't escape. Most shrimp are bottom dwellers and I think would struggle to climb a heater.

Check out the shrimp farm for some good reading etc..  

4. JayseeFishlore LegendMember

A glass top is all that's needed to keep your inverts (crayfish) in the tank. If you plan on keeping other fish in addition to the barbs, dwarf crayfish are a good choice.

5. harpua2002Fishlore VIPMember

Amano shrimp are nice in addition to the other inverts that were mentioned.

You're right not to mess with your pH. 7.4 isn't that high and most fish can readily adapt to it. :)

6. bigshaneNew MemberMember

thanks for the tips so far!! im not 100% sure what i want yet but they will all be community fish. i was thinking of adding 3-4 albino corys and 2 dwarf gourami.i have 5 cherry barbs now 2m3f. but im not set on any plan. im taking my time.

7. ryanrModeratorModerator Member

OOOHHHHH be careful with 2 dwarf gourami.