Help A Friend...a Newbie With Zebra Danios

Fishgurl12
HI everyone!
I am posting on behalf of a friend who is new to this and has been following the lfs advice which we all know is just about selling fish! I have been keeping fish for about 3 years but my tank got old tank syndrome so I clearly have forgotten my staff hence me here asking the experts! Here goes:

She has a 32 litre tank (footprint is 50cm by 25cm and 28cm high), had the tank about 5 weeks, think fish been in there 4 weeks. She has 3 danio fish. She was using strips and going to the lfs to test the water. She has since bought the liquid test for nitrites. The lfs told her to leave her tank for a week then bring water in to test . So she did this then got the danios. She was then told to come back in a week for 3 Rosie barbs) and to use API quick start. She did that and they said the nitrates were to high. She is then been testing the nitrites which have stayed high. When she used strips for nitrates they measured 2 - can that be right?? And doing 10% changes every other day and feeding every other day. The strips didn't test ammonia so she couldn't give me that. Here is the nitrite test:

45bdeb75-3606-4a9c-9610-2afa07e75ec4.jpg

I know there is missing info but any help/guidance you can give would be much appreciated! I said to reduce feeding to every other day but I did a fishless cycle so am confused when it comes to this quick start stuff! Worried she'll lose her fish!

Fishgurl12
Just remembered she is using pure balls as well as API quick start...

sassymomma
Those nitrites are very high....Are the fish sitting near the bottom, looking like they feel ill?