Hello! Stocking Ideas For 36 Gallon?

Garnet

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I have been lurking for a while and am glad to have finally joined this wonderful community. Even though I’ve been keeping bettas for about 20 years (got my first tank when I was about 13/14), I still consider myself rather inexperienced in the hobby. I’ve recently decided to branch out and try my hand at a community tank. I have a 10 gallon with some glowlight tetras, a mystery snail, and a female guppy that I’ve had for about a year now. But I recently purchased a 36 gallon bow front that is in the midst of being cycled and could really use some help with stocking it.

I have no idea what I am going to put in it yet and am open to any ideas. My niece and nephew love yellow and red, so if anyone has any stocking suggestions for some easily available red or yellow fish, that would be awesome. I love cherry barbs and chili rasboras, but other than platy or guppies for the yellow, any other suggestions? Or a good centerpiece fish? My LFS suggested a blood parrot, but I’m not sold on it yet. The 36g has pea pebbles, and so far, only fake plants and some caves/hiding spots. Filtration is a sponge filter rated for 55 gallons and a Top Fin Silentstream 40 that I plan to upgrade in the next few months (I could use good budget friendly filter recommendations, too!). I’m open to any and all suggestions, not just yellow and red, so any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

yinoma2001

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Honey gourami are beautiful. Thank you for the suggestion!
I have a tank with 4 honey gouramis....they are beautiful and do not bother other fish. When they "school" together (they're not schooling fish) they are so cute.

Garnet

Reaction score
I have a tank with 4 honey gouramis....they are beautiful and do not bother other fish. When they "school" together (they're not schooling fish) they are so cute.