1. Amazon Prime Day!
    Attention Amazon Prime Members: Not to miss deals on lots of products for 36 hours starting July 15!
    Go here: Amazon Prime Day Deals
    Dismiss Notice

Hello! New To The Hobby

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by AugustV, Jun 19, 2019.

1. AugustVNew MemberMember

Hello everyone. I'm new to the hobby. 4 months now. I have a 36 gallon bow front, a five gallon, and a ten gallon already. See, I have guppies. Hence all the new aquariums lol. I started with live plants right away and I'm in love. I got all but two from tissue culture and have watched them flourish. It's amazing to watch. I'll post a pic of my 36 and ten. I have to water change daily

Attached Files:

2. Crafty CichlidWell Known MemberMember

Those are some pretty great plants... what's with the daily water changes?

3. AugustVNew MemberMember

Thank you for the comment on the plants.

I don't know if I'm doing wrong with the 20% daily water changes, but I started doing them because when I set up the tank I was told by my LFS to go ahead and put the fish in after only 24 hours. After about a week I had an ammonia spike to 2ppm and started to do some research. That's when I found out about the nitrogen cycle. I was terrified I was going to lose even one fish so I started changing the water daily. I actually stopped when it cycled and only changed once a week. You can't see them in that pic because they are in the hornwort on the left side of that aquarium, but I have over 80 guppy fry in there in different stages of development. I'm worried that I'm overstocked and will hurt them if I don't do the daily water changes. If there is something that I should do differently, I would love some advice.

Thanks!

4. LynnwoodFishDadValued MemberMember

Welcome! I love my 36 and glad you love yours too! I stay away from live breeders myself but they are fun! You’ll find lots of good info here.