hello, I'm new here, but not new to fish!

1. morgana Initiate Member

This is my first time with this group, just found it when I was searching the net for info about my bettas. I have six that I just put into a divided hex tank with floating plants and different kinds of strata, including sand. They have never been in such close proximity before. ??? They spend a lot of time flaring at each other now.

2. Miss Mouse Well Known Member Member

Hello and welcome to Fishlore, and to another betta fan! ;D I put a mirror next to my tank on my wall to reflect the light around my bedroom but I found my betta, Taro kept flaring at his image and I was told it wasn't healthy for them to do that all the time because basically they're in fight mode 24/7! Maybe try putting a few plants in between the divides to give them a little privacy?

hope you enjoy chatting to us

Ursula :D

3. Isabella Fishlore VIP Member

I don't understand how any fish could be so aggressive to the point it had to live alone. I love the way bettas look and always wanted some, but will never get any because of their behavior. I think bettas being constantly stressed out, would eventually stress me out! (Out of worrying for them.) Aren't they "lonely" being by themselves all their lives? How do they breed if they're so aggressive? Why are they the way they are ???

4. Miss Mouse Well Known Member Member

I think they're like grumpy old men  :D But in their defence they apparently make extremely good daddies!! "The male can be so protective he will take the fry into his mouth for protection" (Siamese Cyber aquarium)