Hello I'm New A Few Questions If I May?

Nronchetti

HI all,

Sorry for the long post skip to the bottom for the Q's if you don't like reading!

Thanks for taking the time to read through. As mentioned I am a bit new to this after my 4 year old wanted a pet for Christmas. My response was no but the wife seemed to think that Santa could deliver an aquarium and with fish in it! Hey ho I always wanted an aquarium any way so here I am.

We ended up getting a Superfish home 40 and I find myself already wanting something bigger and we are not even out of January! After getting the tank, setting it up with the substrate some plants and a big rock I had been advised to leave it a couple of weeks without fish and I did as instructed. I understand now that the advice was somewhat lacking and I should have paid more attention to the cycle process. Christmas eve I went and collected a couple of platies ready for Christmas morning.

Christmas morning came and our two fish had converted in to 42 fish :-O !! after some cannibalism this was reduced to 20 odd fry and two mummies. Shortly after Christmas I had to go away, the inlaws were coming to stay at our house in a few days so I thought I would be ok leaving half a weekend feeding block in the tank before they arrived. It seems that this extra food might have caused a ammonia spike as one of the mummies died in the two days they were on their own.

I am now left with about 20 younguns and 1 mummy which obviously when fully grown will be too much for the tank, I know some people who have shown a interest in taking some off my hands when they are a bit bigger.

The tank seems pretty stable and I have been measuring the levels a couple of times a week to make sure everything is progressing as it should. I am currently doing about 20% water changes every week and the fish seem to be happy.