Hello! I Need Help With A Pregnant Ghost Shrimp...

shroum

Reaction score
Hello all!

I'm pretty new to this whole other side of keeping fish, like checking the water parameters, etc. We recently got four guppies, two scissortail rasboras, and two glowlight tetras. Also scattered around 7-8 ghost shrimp in there, one of which is pregnant and mostly hangs out under a hollow decorative rock.

I recently read that you have to quarantine the pregnant shrimp with a breeding box filled with plants. Another article told me to transfer the shrimp to another tank, filled with green water algae. Both also mention an aquarium sponge filter, and I'm kinda confused on what that is and what it does. All Google provides me with is that it draws air through an air pump outside of the tank.

Also, if not given any help, will a ghost shrimp drop her eggs without any help? I know the shrimp larvae may be eaten by the other resident fish, however.

MaximumRide14

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Ghost shrimp eggs will hatch in freshwater, but the young shrimp need brackish water to survive and grow. Eventually the eggs will be dropped, but the shrimp will most likely not survive past the larval stage.

OP
shroum

shroum

Reaction score
MaximumRide14 said:
Ghost shrimp eggs will hatch in freshwater, but the young shrimp need brackish water to survive and grow. Eventually the eggs will be dropped, but the shrimp will most likely not survive past the larval stage.
What would you recommend- transferring the shrimp to a breeding box or another tank?

Also, how would I make the water “brackish”? On top of that, would I keep the mother with her offspring until they grow up, or simply put her back with the other fish after giving birth?

So sorry for the many questions, I’m like a helicopter mom to my fish and shrimp. ^ ^;

NYFishGuy

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
1 year