Hello! I’m A Beginner Breeder! Currently Dealing With Ich, Again Question

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by SinisterSaiyan, Aug 17, 2019.

1. SinisterSaiyan

SinisterSaiyanNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +2
    Hey everybody! This website has been so helpful to me lately so thank you everyone!
    First off, I’ve had fish on and off but more recently fell back in love. I’ve decided to breed balloon mollies and other sorts but balloons are my favorite. BUT!! I’m dealing with ich again but only because the new fish I ordered online arrived looking ok until upon very close inspection I BARELY spotted 2 micro tiny tiny spots on her back fin but i was very 50/50 on whether it is or not but decided to start ich treatment with API liquid ich treatment just to be on the safe side because I’m not about to have my other fish get it and I think I’m catching it pretty early too. Here are some of my anxiety ridden concerns... is it really that safe to keep them in medicated water like that for anywhere from 1 full treatment cycle to maybe even 2 cycles?!? I’ve honestly only ever had to treat ich for 4 full days of one treatment and all the fish recovered, so when I hear people on here say “I treated it for 2 weeks straight” I can’t imagine if those high temps and constant medicine in the waters is ok for the fish to handle?!? Is it? Well hopefully in the next few days this one fish recovers well *fingers crossed* otherwise all my other fish are healthy and happy, it’s just my gorgeous Dalmatian balloon molly that arrived sick :( she’s so gorgeous!