Hello Hello! New To The Forum!

Emilee C.

Reaction score
Hello there! My name's Emilee and I am a betta owner I found this forum and decided to join it in hopes of learning more about my beloved fish and making some friends.

I am a freshman in college currently, majoring in elementary education with a focus on mathematics.

I got my first betta fish at the end of my junior year of high school. He was a beautiful blue veiltale named Sonic. He loved me and I loved him but unfortunately he contracted dropsy in my winter semester here at college. I caught it too late and even though I wanted to treat him I simply did not have the money for the medicines he would need so I had to euthanize him (I used clove oil).

A few days later, I bought a new betta fish. I did not want my fish supplies to go to waste and I had a betta fish sized hole in my heart. His name was Jonghyun (because the kpop idol was my, well, idol). He is a beautiful pink-red-purple ombre veiltale. He is housed in a 2.5 gallon (I tried him in a 5 gallon for the first month or two but I noticed he liked smaller areas so I moved him to a smaller tank.) where he loves his little Top Fin Balines Lantern Aquarium ornament. His only tank mates is Shawol, an ivory mystery snail and two marimo moss balls.

A little bit later in the year, my roommate and I decided to start a betta fish sorority. I had done a lot of reading on these and I wanted to try my hand at it. So, we both picked out two female bettas (big mistake) and then got an additional school of five red finned tetras.

In short, it failed and now the bettas are separated and we are currently trying to find a home for our aggressive little demon tetras.