Hello From Down Sourh

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by angeltank, Jul 15, 2019.

1. angeltank

angeltankValued MemberMember

Hey all,

I am a newby to the forum and happy to be here. I currently have a 55g with a pair of breeding Angels (live babies and all-YAY), a school of c.aeneus (mixed between bronze and albino), and diamond tetras and bleeding heart tetras. I joined for two reasons.1) I hope to transition my aquarium to a live planted tank. Something I've got no experience with. And 2) I want to add to my c. Aeneus school some of the varying color varieties out there but am honestly still too novice to know if mixing the blacks, green long fins, bronze, and albinos will lend to the happy cohesive school of bronze and albinos I've enjoyed for over 5 years now. Any advice or personal experience I'd gladly welcomed.

2. Crispii

CrispiiWell Known MemberMember

Welcome!

1. Whenever it comes to starting a planted aquarium, start off with easy to grow plants. The best beginner plants that I recommend are rhizome plants (anubias, java fern, bucephalandra) and floating plants (duckweed, frogbit, salvinia). After you feel a little comfortable with those plants, then you can start keeping stem plants (ludwigia, hygrophila, rotala) and rooted plants (swords, vallisneria, dwarf sagittaria).

2. Bronze and albino are the same species. You can mix and match color varieties based on your preference.

3. OP
    OP
    angeltank

Thank you so much for your reply! I think I love this forum already.