Hello Fishlore

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by JessicaSwanlake, Apr 25, 2019.

1. JessicaSwanlakeNew MemberMember

Hello, I'm new to Fishlore and recently (a little over a week ago) set up a new 55 gallon freshwater aquarium. I have had fish in the past (not for the past 5 years or so) in my 25 gallon, but they were only smaller, petstore fish like goldfish and neons. This time around I am going to have a couple larger varieties of fish, the centerpiece of which is my Oscar who is about 3 inches long right now and scared of everything including his own food. I will be posting a couple of questions soon regarding best practices and will probably need some advise.

2. FanaticFishlore VIPMember

Hello, and welcome to fishlore!

3. Morpheus1967Well Known MemberMember

Welcome!

I wouldn't put anything else in a 55 with an Oscar. He is going to need all that space himself.

4. JessicaSwanlakeNew MemberMember

I have a peacock eel (about 6 inches long) in there with him right now (at least I hope it is a peacock and not a larger one since I hear they are often mislabeled), they don't seem to bother each other yet.
    I assume if he gets as big as the 12-14 inches listed I will need to upgrade my tank to a 75 gallon within the next year anyway, which is fine since both my heater and filter are rated for 75 gallons.

If there aren't any agression issues between the two of them they can both be fine in a 75 gallon, right?

5. WinterSoldier.Well Known MemberMember

Welcome to fishlore!

6. Morpheus1967Well Known MemberMember

I love Oscars, had 1 myself years ago. They are great fish, but when they hit about 6" or so, anything they can fit in their mouth they will eat. I had mine alone in a 75. The hard part is, with Oscars, there are no signs of aggression like other species. Fin nips, chasing, etc. He's just gonna eat. No second chance from that. And your Oscar is gonna grow. Fast.

Last edited: Apr 25, 2019
  7. Ohio MarkWell Known MemberMember