Hello Everyone!

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by Fruitfulspy, Apr 24, 2019.

1. FruitfulspyNew MemberMember

Hi everyone! I'm new to FishLore, I just purchased a 37 Tall Tank. I had made a rookie mistake when purchasing it with fish. :( However, I've been cycling it for the last 2 almost 3 weeks, I've done 2-3 water changes (all without fish) already on it. Was going to put TopFin conditioner in it tomorrow and let it cycle for another 24 hrs before purchasing fish.

My plan is to have 2x Gourami's as center pieces and have 2 schools of rasboras or danios (haven't fully decided on which.) and the bottom have either otos or corys. Also, I plan to have 2-3 live plants and some rocks for them to hide in if needed. My main question is, for my water temps...some of the fish in my plan that I have been researching for nonstop for days, most of the temps vary for this plan. Should I keep my temp between 72-75? What's the safest temp for the plan I have?

Also, would love some ideas too. Thanks!! :)

2. 86 ssinitWell Known MemberMember

Welcome to fishlore :). The danios like colder water. The ottos are very hard fish to keep. They need a well established tank and need to have been eating before you buy them. Most are wild caught and die about a month after you get them.
    Did the tank come with fish?
    How are you cycling? Do you have a water test kit?

3. FruitfulspyNew MemberMember

The tank did not come with fish, I purchased 4 koi’s, let the tank cycle for a few hours before putting them in with conditioner and bacteria supplement. That was my mistake and they unfortunately died. But I have not gotten a test kit, I will purchase one tomorrow. I have had my water tested while it was dwelling, the water levels/pH levels are okay. Since me having that mistake, I’m taking every single precaution that there is so I don’t have anymore mistakes.

4. 86 ssinitWell Known MemberMember

How are you cycling the tank? Are you adding ammonia?