55 Gallon Tank Hello everyone I’m a newbie!

Keno17

I’m a beginner with a 55 gallon African cichlids tank that’s been running for three months!

PlantedCommunityTank132

Welcome to the forum :). Is the cichlid tank your only tank?

Keno17

Yes it’s my only tank for now I’m start to get a 125 gallon tank together to replace my 55 gallon tank!

PlantedCommunityTank132

Will you stock it with the same fish?

StarGirl

Welcome to Fishlore! :)

richiep

Croeso welcome to fishlore keno

Keno17

Will you stock it with the same fish?
Yes the fish I have in my 55 gallon will move to the bigger tank and then I was gonna get a 75 gallon and stock it with a different community of fish.

Sofiafish17

Wow, MTS hit your fast! Lol
Welcome to Fishlore!

Lily123121

Welcome, Newbie! Nice to meet you. I have some African cichlids too.

Lily123121

How often do you do a partial water change?
W

What’s MTS?
sometimes weekly, sometimes skip a week if parameters good, per API. Do up to 75%. Have easy system. Described it in new thread today.

MTS. =. Multiple Tank Syndrome. Fish people speak.

Keno17

So if I was to take out 5 gallons of water weekly would that lower the nitrate in my tank?

Prevail

So if I was to take out 5 gallons of water weekly would that lower the nitrate in my tank?
I've never kept african cichlids but removing water from your tank weekly will remove nitrates, but you don't actually want 0 nitrates. You should aim for between 5-20 ppm

Lily123121

I don‘t think 5 gallons is enough. That’s under 10%. I’d take at least 25%, & likely more, depending on the API test results
I've never kept african cichlids but removing water from your tank weekly will remove nitrates, but you don't actually want 0 nitrates. You should aim for between 5-20 ppm
Never been possible for me to get to zero, not even close. More like 15 ppm & that’s with pothos and Lucky Bamboo roots submerged in the water supposedly uptaking nitrates

Keno17