hello all - newbie here.

manmade

Reaction score
hi all, just started getting into this whole fish thing.
i was lured in by the amazingly bright coloured fishes, too bad most are for saltwater setups...which i can't afford =(.
i have a 16 gallon tank with nothing in it yet. just letting the water settle...i guess? i did put a gold gourami in it, a survivor from a fish bowl setup =X.
can anyone recommend some bright fishies that'll get along with everyone? tanks >>> wawa wa waaa.

Neville

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
hi, welcome to fishlore. gold gouramis can become territorial and may harass other fish, u can keep mollies and swordtails with them.

manmade

Reaction score
thanks neville. i'll keep those fish in mind.
got another newbie question....should i be keeping my power filter on all the time...or just let it go for about 8 -10 hours a day?
my lights too...the aquarium is in an area with natural light, but not direct sunlight. should i still need to leave the lights on for 10 hours a day?
thanks in advance.

sgould

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Welcome! Your filter should stay on all the time. You would not want to leave your lights on any more than 8-10 hours or you risk an algae outbreak. If the area the tank is in has natural lighting, you might want to leave the tank lights off when you are not actually viewing the fish. The rest of the time, the ambient natural lighting will be sufficient for the fish to do their thing, and will allow you to save a bit of power and not tempt the algae gods. If you choose to leave the lights on, then you might want to consider adding some type of algae eating fish as well to help control any growth.

Sean

tan.b

Well Known Member
Reaction score