Hello all, Newbie Here. Questions as well.

• Thread starter Jules2012
  • Start date

Jules2012

Hello All,

I am newbie here to the forum. I grew up in a home where my Dad bred tropical freshwater fish. I did have a 75 Gallon one some years ago and just decided I couldn't live without one any longer. This tank I have recently set up is a small 30 gallon one, I will be getting a very large one as well once I get this down and learn more, I would like sometime to get a nice Salt Water tank.

But I am having a hard time though, the tank came with a filter and then I purchased another filter to work in conjunction with it, I have two filters running, also I have used Stability and also Prime.

I have a test kit and have tested the ammonia, which is zero, my PH is 6.8, my nitrite is 0 and my nitrate is 0. I have cloudy water, its not clearing up. I have no fish yet, and have had my tank up for approximately 1 month. I also have an aerator as well. I did use RO water, reverse osmosis, not our tap water, its horrible here, a lot of mining of copper has ruined the water here, but its just cloudy still. I have done 25% changes of water, but only 2 twice so far. I saw this awesome forum and decided to join to commune with knowledgeable people, a forum that I'm looking forward to learning from.

Gudgie

Welcome to the forum!

Sounds like your tank hasn’t really started to cycle yet. Stability adds bacteria and is a great way to speed up the cycling process, but it needs a source of ammonia for the bacteria to feed on. If you haven’t already done so, I suggest adding a little bit of pure ammonia (quickest). Alternatively sometimes people use a pinch of fish food. The ammonia levels will initially spike, but then you should see the transition to nitrite and finally nitrate.

Alternatively, if you have any nearby friends with fish tanks, you could probably just get some used filter media from them - can instantly cycle your tank, depending on bioload.