Hello All From Wv

Adam85

Reaction score
Just recently got a 20 gal tank for my son. Having trouble getting it started. Hope I can find some help here.

windrunner9189

Well Known Member
Reaction score
hello, welcome to fishlore!
what are you struggling with, exactly? i'm not an expert, but there are other people here who can help you out with this

Adam85

Reaction score
Well we let the tank run for two days after putting tetra safe start in it before we put the fish in. We put in 3 bala sharks, 4 neons, and 2 glow fish. They lasted about an hour then all died. We then were told by the place we bought the fish to put in stress coat. We did and got more of the same fish with the same results again. What am I missing?

Thedudeiam94

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Adam85 said:
Well we let the tank run for two days after putting tetra safe start in it before we put the fish in. We put in 3 bala sharks, 4 neons, and 2 glow fish. They lasted about an hour then all died. We then were told by the place we bought the fish to put in stress coat. We did and got more of the same fish with the same results again. What am I missing?
Your tank hasn’t cycled and your parameters are probably way off. Don’t add anymore fish! Take a sample of the water to your local pet store and have them test the waters parameters! (Ask for actual numbers! Don’t accept they’re fine as an answer) Then come back and post them here so we can help you address the problem correctly!

Brian Knowles

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Welcome to fishlore!!!! You've come to the right place to get answers. Unfortunately your local big box fish store is in the business of selling fish and chemicals. Follow @Thedudeiam94 advice, and you will be successful. The only thing different I would say, is get you an API test kit, and don't rely on someone you don't know to test your water.

Adam85

Reaction score