Heater Stuck On - Killed All Fish Including Several Discus

Elliott03

I made an unfortunate discovery today. I did a routine daily water change last night on my 60 gallon aquarium and then went to bed. This morning, I found every one of my fish dead, including several Discus I've been growing out for many months. My thermometer read 105F. I have no idea what went wrong. I confirmed I didn't bump the temperature setting, and I know that the heater stayed submerged during the water change. I'm in a bit of shock trying to wrap my head around what I could have done to prevent this crash from happening. It really sucks thinking that these wonderful fish I've had were suffering in their final hours while I was asleep in bed.

I'm heavily discouraged, and am likely going to step back from the hobby for a while. I've had the same tank and several of the fish since the week after I got married about 5 years ago. But, while it's fresh, I want your opinions on what I did wrong or how I could have prevented this from happening. I'm hoping to take this knowledge into future tank builds whenever I'm back on my feet and wanting to try again.

I was using a Titanium 500W Heater (Finnex HMA-500S) that was well reviewed on Amazon which I bought about ~3 years ago. Your advice is appreciated.

Best Answer - View faydout's answer

Dippiedee

I'm so sorry for your losses. I dont think you should blame yourself, a technical malfunction is impossible to predict and is definitely not your fault. I dont think you did anything wrong.

In terms of the future the only thing I can think of is replacing heaters annually? Although that doesnt guarantee it wont be faulty, things don't need to be old to malfunction. Maybe there is some sort of fail safe product somebody else can recommend; I dont personally know of any but I wanted to reply with something. Dont be too hard on yourself

Dennis57

So sorry about your loss, remember it was not your fault.