having lots of questions...plz help!!!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by aquaneel, Nov 28, 2012.

1. a

aquaneel New Member Member

Hi Friends,
    I'm new in this hobby and facing lots of problem please help me...
    I'm from Calcutta, India...right now I've 2 aquariums measuring 2.5ft-1ft-1ft and 1.5ft-1.5ft-1ft..current temperature is around 15°C(59°F)...I've some questions...

Q1. 3 of my green tiger barbs are losing their color, they are fading and also not much playful as they were..what would be the possible reasons???are they going to die..and what kind of fishes can be kept with my tigers...I've 5 green tigers and 6 5 band tiger barbs....since they are famous for fin nipping...i have lost some of my Guppies, Swordtail and Molliies (forced to separate them for this awkward behavior)..

Q2. what kind of plants are suitable for my aquariums...I've two aquariums (1st one is 2.5ft-1ft-1ft for gold fishes and 2nd one is 1.5ft-1.5ft-1ft for tigers and other small fishes)..what are the possible care have to take for those plants...

Q3. What kind of light should be installed in my aquarium since I'm going to keep some live plants..I already install a T4 submersible blue lamp..is it suitable for growing live plants????

Q4. Is it really necessary to install heaters in winter time....what should the ideal temperature for the aquariums for gold fishes and for small fishes like tigers mollies etc...

thanks in advance....

Attached Files:

2. WaterSpirit

WaterSpirit Valued Member Member

Your temp is too low, bring it up SLOWLY over course of 2 days to around 68 - 79 degrees F.

3. WaterSpirit

WaterSpirit Valued Member Member

goldfish like it to be cooler, but not so much for barbs

4. ryanr

ryanr Moderator Moderator Member

Hi, welcome to Fishlore :;hi2

First, if you could kindly complete your profile info, it will help others to help you.