Have I messed up my fishless cycle?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by rosie2126, Dec 28, 2012.

1. rosie2126

rosie2126 New Member Member

Hiya everyone!

I'm new to keeping tropical fish and have a question about fishless cycling.

I think (hope) I was on the right track with my cycle, I went away for xmas so had no way to continue adding ammonia or doing any readings, am I still on track? I'm using API master kit....

15/12

Ammonia 0ppm
    Nitrate 160ppm
    Nitrite 5ppm

16/12

Ammonia 0ppm
    Nitrate 40ppm
    Nitrite 3ppm

17/12

Ammonia 0.25ppm
    Nitrate 40ppm
    Nitrite 5ppm

18 and 19/12

Ammonia 0.25ppm
    Nitrate 10ppm
    Nitrite 5ppm

21, 22 and 23/12

Ammonia 0ppm
    Nitrate 5ppm
    Nitrite 5ppm

27/12

Ammonia 0ppm (still dropping after 24h)
    Nitrate 80ppm
    Nitrite 0.5ppm

Today:

Ammonia 0ppm
    Nitrate 160ppm
    Nitrite 0.5ppm

Will the few days absent have upset the cycle or are these readings ok? Many thanks for any help

2. c

catsma_97504 Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to the forum.

What are you using to cycle? Your ammonia level is almost always 0. This is not good for a fishless cycle. While some progress has been made the bacteria needs a constant food source.

Push the ammonia level up to the 2-3 ppm range. Then test 24 hours later. Add enough ammonia to again push it into the 2-3 ppm range. By allowing all ammonia to be depleted the cycle quickly can stall.

Good luck!

3. h

hcroark Valued Member Member

yes, it looks like you kinda lost some of the nitrate bacteria. You're going through the nirtrite spike again. It's ok. Just keep adding the ammonia and it will get back there soon enough.

4. OP
    OP
    rosie2126