Harlequin Rasbora Mouth Stuck Open!

Brittany Rismiller

I had treated for mouth rot a few weeks ago with kanaplex when my harlequin rasboras showed signs of mouth rot. I noticed today that one of them has its mouth stuck open with a white tuft on its bottom lip! A couple have a teeny tiny white dot on their mouths but I thought it was going away. Do I need to just remove this one fish or do I need to treat the tank again? I've lowered the temperature from 78 to about 73. I'm so over having issues in my newer tank. I'm a newbie and this is very frustrating. Thanks in advance :/

Attachments

• Harley.jpg
    Harley.jpg
    47 KB · Views: 99

Jacob C

Did you test the water? What is your waterchange schedule?

Brittany Rismiller

Yes. Pictured. Ammonia is 0, nitrite 0, and nitrates about 10ppm. I just did a water change about 4 days ago and it was 25%. I do a water change weekly anywhere from 25 to 50%. Ever since I set this tank up several months ago, my nitrites and ammonia have never been past 0 and nitrates have stayed between 5 and 10.

Attachments

• 20171115_155918.jpg
    20171115_155918.jpg
    59.8 KB · Views: 48

Brittany Rismiller

I literally just received my second filter in the mail just now, I was going to install today but I'm afraid to contaminate it. Is that even a thing? Haha

NavigatorBlack

The colour of the fish is good. I have seen that open mouth thing before, and have heard a few theories as to what it is. None are proven though.
An inflammation of the throat, a cyst, an iodine deficiency, a tumour - all have been suggested. I've had fish for 51 years, have seen that maybe 15 times, have never saved the fish and have never found a clear cause.

Brittany Rismiller

The colour of the fish is good. I have seen that open mouth thing before, and have heard a few theories as to what it is. None are proven though.