Hardy freshwater fish

giki

Reaction score
HI Everyone,
I could use a little help with this question.
I am trying to decide what kind of freshwater fish I should keep.
I am new to all this  and could use some input .
I have a 29 gallon tank that has been cycling for about two weeks.

I am looking for a hardy freshwater fish to start out with.
I like the Angelfish but they look very delicate and hard to keep.
My husband likes the Bala Shark,but that fish will grow to be too large for my tank.
I understand that the Bala Shark and Angelfish make good tank mates.

Can you tell me about how fast the Bala Shark will grow?

Are these fish hardy enough for a beginner?
I don't want to make a bad chose .

Thanks,
                                                              Giki

PrayforMojo

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I am also beggining a new tank. First of all good luck. Second of all I would say it is a good idea to keep cheaper fish that it wouldnt hurt to lose if somehing were to go wrong. I was pointed towards the black skirt tetra, or guppies, mollys, gouramis. And I am pretty sure that most of these will take to your other fish. Be careful about what you want with your angelfish they tend to be aggresive. On the other hand a friend of mine has a 65 g community tank with a couple bala sharks, tetras, and he introduced a small angelfish into the tank six months ago and there does not seem to be a problem. When adding new tank mates try to reorganize the ornaments and the fish seem to all take on new territories, limiting stressful times on tank mates picking on one another. Good luck again. I will check in hopefully people can name more of the hardier fish for us.

Gargoyle

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
The angel should be fine... The bala shark is a no no with a 29... Don't even think about getting it anymore...