Half my fish stopped eating flakes?

lojack

I’ve been feeding omega one flakes (along with other foods) to my fish for a decade. This past 10 days or so the harlequin Rasboras in my display tank decided they don’t like them anymore almost overnight. Is this something that happens? I’ve been keeping fish for over 25 years and it’s a first for me. But I do have some ideas on what’s going on and I’m looking for input and opinions!

1. 10 days ago I moved everything from my 50 gallon planted (10 years old) into a new 125 gallon. Is it possible they’re stressed from the move still?
2. For the first 6 days or so the Rasboras huddled around my large Anubias and just the last couple of days started swimming the full length of the tank. I assume they were uneasy with all of the wide open space.
3. The can of food is near empty and been open way longer than it should. Maybe they decided it was stale?
4. With #3 in mind, the rest of the corydoras and shrimp have no problem eating the flakes. I also have 10 new juvenile harlequins in quarantine that eat it like it’s crack (do you eat crack?).
5. I tried to tempt them with frozen bloodworms tonight. Half the Rasboras attacked the worms and devoured like normal. The other half attacked but acted picky, choosing ones they wanted to actually eat. Again, shrimp and corydoras ate like normal.
6. I don’t feel like it’s parasites, no new inhabitants for over a year (the Rasboras were the newest additions).
7. No signs of illness or disease, no clamped fins or flashing.

I’m open to suggestions. I’m hoping it’s as simple as they’re just still getting used to the new tank layout.

Other obligatory info:
0 ammonia
0 nitrites
10 nitrates
8.2 ph (stable)
Room temp 75-78 F
Inhabitants range 1-9 years old

Presidenchill

how did you move them to the new tank. What was your method exactly. And how did you acclimate them and did you use any stress reliever and keep the lights off for a while?

Upvote 0

lojack