Had Ich, now possibly fungus????

1. Rhan Well Known Member Member

Hello, a fishlore newbie here, just wondering if some people can read my problem and try to help.

Have a freshwater tropical running for approx. 4 years. Contains 8 neon tetras, 2 small bristlenoses, 1 peppered cory, 1 black neon and up until chrismtas eve, 2 clown loaches.

On 10th December, I added a few neons to my existing school. All was fine, until late on the 17th I noticed my clown loaches and 1 neon had tiny white specks on them that looked exactly like white spot (I had encountered it once before not long after starting my tank as a freshwater tropical).
    The next morning (the 18th), I brought in a water sample to a local aquarium and told them of my problem. They tested the water parameters, and were slightly perplexed as to why my fish were suddenly sick - everything was fairly normal, Ph 6.8, ammonia 0 (they didn't tell me the nitrite and nitrate test results - just that they were in normal range). So I took home a bottle of 3-day medication. That day, I did a 25% water change (with gravel vac) and added the medication, putting in half the recommended dose as it suggested due to having tetras and scaleless fish. I also raised the temp from 26 degrees celcius to 27.
    On the 19th, I raised the temp to 28 degrees celcius.
    On the 21st, I replaced 50% of water (with gravel vac) and dosed again, as per the instructions.
    The next day (22nd) I was expecting to see some kind of improvement, as I had when I first had white spots years ago. Instead the loaches were incredibly lethargic, which is unlike them. They spent most of the day gasping for air at the surface. I turned up the pump on my under gravel filter and cleaned out the tubes, which made it bubble really well. That night they went into a shipwreck ornament and stayed there, upright.