Guppy with clamped tail

potameid

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello! I am new to fishlore (and fishkeeping).
My partner and I have a 29 gallon freshwater planted tank, sand substrate. It's been cycled for one month, after a fishless cycle. The water parameters are: pH 7.4, Ammonia 0ppm, Nitrite 0ppm, Nitrate 5ppm, temperature 74.8 F. They have been steady. We currently only have four male guppies. Three appear healthy, but one is increasingly ill. When we first received them, we noticed a few very pale (but not stringy) poops from a few fish. I worried about parasites, but haven't noticed this after the first week.

A week or two ago, we noticed that the coloring of our sick guppy seemed less vibrant. He had a bright yellow head when we purchased him, which is now pale. This week, his tail fin has become progressively clamped. Tonight his tail was the skinniest I had yet seen it, and his swimming was slower and more labored. It's possible that he has a bit of white on the tip of his dorsal fin, but otherwise, his body seems clear of any obvious infection. He is eating normally.

Our sick guppy was previously one of the most active fish in the tank--always playing in the current of the airstone and zipping along. He had a tendency towards aggression, and at first, we wondered if he was merely stressed, trying to establish himself as leader of the pack. (His unofficial name is "Jerk Friend" because of his general behavior. He displayed A LOT, but I didn't witness anyone nipping him.)

Our area of the east coast USA is currently very shut down due to coronavirus. The LFS are closed, and an understocked petsmart is our option. Unsure of what to do, but wanting to take action, we treated the tank this evening with e. m. erythromycin. We removed charcoal from the filter and are using the remaining filter and sponge media. We also have some paraguard, which I have not used.

1) How soon should I see improvement with the erythromycin, if it is working?