Guppy Spine Disease Help

Discussion in 'Guppy' started by Billy T, Apr 13, 2018.

1. Billy T

Billy T Valued Member Member

Ive only had him a month. Moved him to another tank at another house and he’s been fine. Then I go today and he’s floating at the top with a bit of a bent spine. After being notified of his condition and researching guess this is more common than not. Really sucks it can happen overnight. Guess putting him to sleep is most humane thing to do. I’m a month old newbie so any suggestions including most peaceful way to do this would be greatly appreciated

2. Little John

Little John Valued Member Member

use clove oil in water it will make them fall asleep and the will die in their sleep.

3. OP
    OP
    Billy T

Hmm. Came back over to my Dads to check on him and he’s straightened out swimming around fine but my Dads pictus cat was dead

4. Tomcat1972

Tomcat1972 Valued Member Member

I had a few guppies that had the same symptoms. Just in a matter of a few days their tail would get a downward bend. It's a common occurrence in store bought guppies. Since I've started breeding my own I haven't had any problems but I had to buy some guppies from a guy on the net that raises his own to get a decent group of adults to breed my own because almost all of the guppies I got from stores died too quickly. I never buy fish from stores anymore now. I always find someone online that sells fish that they breed.

5. I

Ioana Sundius New Member Member