Guppy Poop

Discussion in 'Guppy' started by Fishbeginner01, Apr 11, 2018.

1. F

Fishbeginner01 New Member Member

i know this is silly but it is something I have noticed. One of my female guppies has been getting bloated which I Charlie’s up to pregnancy. However the last couple days I have noticed a long white “string” coming out of her bum. It seems ticker at the end then at the “fish but” side.
    At first I thought was a string of poo but I honestly think it’s the same thing but getting longer... could this be an actual issue or am I going nuts.
    She still swims and eats.
    It’s a 40 gallon freshwater tank, cycled and 4 months old.
    4 female guppies
    4... I forgot what
    1 lucky fry that keeps out maneuvering the other fish
    pH 7.4
    Ammonia 0
    Nitrite 0
    Nitrate 10 (I added 2 new plants and a piece of drift wood a few days ago to help with the nitrate issue as I couldn’t get it lower)

I’m a gastrointestinal nurse so I notice poop a lot.

Attached Files:

2. C

CocoCappuccino Valued Member Member

Stringy white poop can be a sign of internal parasites, which may make the guppy seem pregnant, but it's just the parasites doing that. If it's actual pregnancy, check her vent, it should be pretty dark. Is she new? My new guppies had stringy white poop that I thought was internal parasites, but after being fed a proper diet the poop changed to normal, and it flaked off like it should.

What food are you feeding? I've heard some low quality foods can cause digestive issues.

3. OP
    OP
    F

About 2 seconds after I put the post up the white string thing dropped off. Here is a pic of her vent.

If it was/is a parasite , can it dropping off effect the other fish?
    I feed the once a day, “omega one color flakes” or “omega one freeze dried blood worms

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2018
  4. C

CocoCappuccino Valued Member Member