Guppy Had Two Fry But Hasn't Continued

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by FirstTimeGuppy, Apr 21, 2017.

1. FirstTimeGuppy

FirstTimeGuppyNew MemberMember

I got a female at petsmart yesterday and I perposfully got one that looked far along in pregnancy. Got home from work this morning (4/21/17) at 7am and saw one fry in the tank. I quickly ran to the store and got a gallon of water to put in my emergency fish bowl and let warm up before putting them in there. In the mean time (I think I messed up doing this) I put them in the breeder box with the pregnant female to prevent them from eating babies cuz the box has slots so the fry can get out. When I got home I saw a second (idk if it was there before how birthed after I left) Once water was room temp (75•F) I put the male and other female in the bowl. But over the course of the day I have not seen her have more babies. She's currently in the breeder box alone now but still no sign of more fry. This is my first time doing this so I don't know what I'm doing xD thanks for any advise

Just realized that I forgot to mention before I said "I put them" that I had a male and two other females but one died mid way through the day.

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 21, 2017
  2. RyleighJ

RyleighJValued MemberMember

Is there a chance that the other fry were eaten before you even got home from work?

3. OP
    OP
    FirstTimeGuppy

I mean, that's always possible but I'm not 100% sure. Although I don't have a lot of plants I have one plant(fake cuz I couldn't afford a real one till next week) that is very bushy and soft. I still have a female in the breeder box and will keep her there till morning to see how it goes. If no other fry come out I'll put her back in the tank and hope for future pregnancies

4. fjh

fjhWell Known MemberMember