Guppy Fry Color?

blindfaith429

I was doing a water change on my tank today, and noticed a bright yellow tiny thing floating around. After looking at it closely, I realized it was a guppy fry.

I looked at the tank a little closer, and saw at least 7 more fry, but all the others were clear. I only found the one yellow one.

Mom is all yellow, dad is bright orange with a silver belly.

Will the clear ones color up later? Or are they born already with color? Trying to figure out what happened.

I know its not an exact science with guppies like this, but I was just curious what I should expect. This is my first time with guppies and breeding.

The LFS i got them from, keeps the males and females seperate, and as far as I could tell, the females were not pregnant yet (bought 3, all got pregnant).

Thanks!

Mikedick77

They will color up. When they do is all individual. I have a 20 gallon tank with about 100+ guppy fry in it. As they color up, I cherry pick the ones I like to see further coloring on. The others get rehomed quite easily.

Edit: Further note, some guppy fry can be born and be pregnant with no male present. At least that's what I've read.

Quiche

Hey, congrats on the fry! My platy fry are all born a faint shade of yellow, some paler and some richer, regardless of what they turn into later (red wag, iridescent, twin bar), so I assume yours will color up later too.

blindfaith429

Thanks all for the replies.

Here's a pic of some of the clear ones, hanging out at the top of my java-moss-covered-wood "tree of life".

jake37

Sometimes they do - most of the times they do - they don't always.

mimo91088

The yellow body is a genetic trait. The other ones might get some color as adults, but they'll have grey or clear bodies. The yellow one will keep a yellow base color for its whole life

Mandy627