Guppy Died Within First Week, Need To Make Sure It Doesnt Happen Again

1. SSJ

SSJ Valued Member Member

Dear All,

I am a newbie in this domain, I built a 3feet tank and put the fish on last thursday 5th April 2018. Its a mix of Edler Guppies, Albino Guppies & Neon Tetra. This morning one of the Female Guppies died, and I felt devastated...Sorry I am very emotional when it comes to a pet dying..had put in lot of effort to make sure it doesnt happen, but it did happen. below are few points that I think might have caused it. Could someone please help me here, I dont want more to die:

1 - I was advised by the Aquarium shop guy to have a week old water which contains bacteria and then put the fish in it. I did not do that due to the huge size of the tank & used only ONE day old water.

2 - Overfeeding - last night I felt they were too hungry and excited to see the food, so dropped almost 5 pinches of food (fish is around 90 in number)

3 - Male to Female Ratio - I see more male guppies than female guppies in the tank, not sure about the exact number as counting is tough

SOrry for the long post, your help is appreciated.

2. appcontrol

appcontrol Well Known Member Member

Did you cycle tank? How much fish did you put at once? Did you test your water?

3. dwarfpufferlover

dwarfpufferlover Well Known Member Member

Welcome to fishlore, going by the information you have in this thread there is various problems here.
    Please help yourself out and read about the nitrogen cycle to begin. This will help give you an understanding of any help you receive here.
    Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle

4. OP
    OP
    SSJ

SSJ Valued Member Member

Yes I did go thru this. Unfortunately I dont have the Nitrite/ammonia tester for my tank. ALthough I have sea plants (Live) in the tank

5. appcontrol